How to optimize channel gain-asking for a friend

GlennM

Gear owned
Model 12
I'm back. After saving a test musical composition to disc on my model 12, I pulled the sd card and copied the .WAV file to my PC. From there I opened the file in Audacity. I was very surprised to find that the overall volume as well as the balance of instruments was far too loo and surprisingly bass heavy and muddy in the middle. Needles to say, I started playing with the normalization and equalization settings in Audacity. What I am wondering is how to get a better recorded sound in the first place. In an extreme case, should I maximize the pre amp dial and minimize the channel slider, or is it the reverse? Is there a general rule of thumb which governs mixer settings, ( think mixer 101 for dummies). I will say out loud that its going to be a long journey fighting the instrument for notes, fighting the effects boxes for tone, fighting the mixer for levels and fighting my own self for being critical of it all. Please advise.
GlennM

My first piece of advice would be to make sure that you are hearing things properly. You apparently mixed something on the Model 12 and the files sound differently on the PC than what you heard when mixing. Are you listening on the same monitor speakers? Headphones on one and speakers on the other? What's different?

Good observation, I am playing the T12 output through a PA system primarily. I also have a reference monitor and good quality cans connected. Each accentuates things differently. The PC has a different set of speakers. Ultimately what I will do in all likelihood is preserve .WAV's and Mp3's of the music I record. Even though music CD's and DVD's are going the way of the Dodo, I'll still burn something for the shelf. I think the problem I'm wrestling with is how do I get more green bars when recording and yet honor the 0db line on the T12's channel screen when the signals are being played or recorded?

Reactions: Max Relic and -mjk-